MEANING IN LIFE BY ANTOINETTE

“One needs something to believe in, something for which one can have whole-hearted enthusiasm. One needs to feel that one’s life has meaning, that one is needed in this world.”  –Hannah Senesh–

Isn’t that the truth? And this is why I write. I need to have something in my life to get excited about on a daily basis.

I’ve always loved books. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t carry a book with me. I’ve written stories for as long as I can remember.  Being an only child could be very boring at times so I made up adventures.  I wouldn’t say I was a liar.  I was just being creative.  This creative side of myself was put on hold while I married, raised my children, helped with my husbands’ business, but even while I had quit putting stories down on paper they were still rattling around in my head.

As the kids all grew older I found myself with free time so I decided to take a class on writing your life stories.  The Sun City library has a wonderful class given by Nancy Tsuchiya. The only problem with this life story writing business is: 1. you’re expected to tell the truth.  2. I didn’t have anything interesting to tell.  So, I went back to fiction writing.  And, because I’m a sucker for a happy ending what’s a better for me than romance fiction?  I know I can hardly wait to see what my characters will get into next.  Without a doubt, besides my family, writing fiction is my greatest source of joy.

That is the real key to life. Enthusiasm about what you’re doing. So it doesn’t matter if you’re published or not–although published would be even better–as long as you are having fun everyday and playing with like-minded pals, life is good.  It certainly is good for me.

Cheers,

Antoinette

Butterscotch Martini Girl

 

2 responses to “MEANING IN LIFE BY ANTOINETTE

  1. What a nice thing to read first thing in the morning! Maybe I can keep my smile on today…

    Like

  2. I love your quote. Reading your pleasure in writing is so uplifting and inspirational.

    Carol

    Like

Leave a Reply

