Antoinette In The City

We all have several sizes of jeans in our closets.  Come on, you know it’s true.  We all have at least two pair that remind us of the skinny self we were, or are planning to be.  I know I’ve bought a pair that I crunched into at the mall with the plan to fit into them by next week.  However, I’m still waiting for that glorious week to arrive. I have the day all planned out.  Here’s my dream…I will walk into my closet and and pull out the skinny jeans, dust them off because they’ve been hanging in there so long, step into them and “Holy c***!” they zip. My perfect day has arrived.  Everything will now fall into place. I’m beautiful. My hair will be perfect, my husband will have picked up his dirty laundry, the dogs will spend the day outside instead of shedding all over the house and even the cat will not throw up a hairball.  And the long awaited contract will arrive! Of ourse it will.  In my perfect world.  And all because I can fit into the skinny jeans.

I know this isn’t true. I know being thinner will not make my world better.  In fact, it might make it worse. My friends might hate me because I lost my weight faster than they did.  My husband might get jealous that I look so “hot”. Even my pets won’t like me as much since I won’t have all the extra food on my plate to give them.  I don’t think my dogs are fond of lettuce. And worse yet, I might get e-coli from eating all the spinach and lettuce.  And I’m sure not about to drink any carrot juice.  So, I think the skinny life style is over-rated. Yes, it’s important to be healthy.  We all need to go easy on the fried foods and get plenty of exercise. But I’m not going to be keeping a record of each tid bit of food I place into my mouth anymore.  Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  It’s much more important to be beautiful because of who we are and not because of what we look like. And I’ll get the contract because of all my hard work.

Instead of keeping the diet log I’m going to start a writing log. I am keeping track of how many words I write each day. It doesn’t matter how many I write each day just as long as I write every day.  At this rate I should have something to submit by the first of next month.  November 1st girls, that’s my goal.  We’ll see how far I can go. Speaking of which, I still need to go out and buy some jeans. Or maybe I’ll just buy a pair of red high heels.  Yes! That’s it. Right after lunch. Sigh.

Cheers,

Antoinette

Butterscotch Martini Girl

4 responses to “Antoinette In The City

  1. Antionette, I gave up on my skinny jeans years ago. Too disappointing. I just try to work out and eat healthy. The word is TRY.

    I’ll remember you said the 1st of November to hand something in. I’ll keep you to your promise. I’m told I’m a terrible nag!

    Carol

    Like

  2. Yep, that’s why I put it out there. So you can nag me.

    Like

  3. You are so right. I have this dream too. Right now I have 3 pairs of too-fat-never-in-a-million-years-will-ever-fit-into-again jeans.

    Like

  4. Antoinette: November 1st – yeah! I can’t wait to see what happens next in your story! And you WILL get that contract, girl 🙂

    Tina Gerow
    ~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~
    Sexy & Adventurous With a Twist of the Unexpected
    http://www.tinagerow.com
    Fire Maiden – Coming June 2006 in eBook & September 2006 in Print from Triskelion Publishing
    Knights of the Magical Realm: Warriors Gone Wild – Anthology coming October 2006 in Print & in eBook from Triskelion
    Stone Maiden – Available Now in Print & in eBook at Triskelion Publishing
    Into a Dangerous Mind – Available Now at Triskelion Publishing

    Like

Leave a Reply

