Roadtrip to Prescott

Hey all, I’m back.  I know…I know…where the heck have I been?  This time I have no excuse for being M.I.A.  I just haven’t gotten the hang of this blogging thing yet.  Sometimes I remember and don’t know what to say.  Other times, you can’t shut me up, but those are the times I don’t remember.  Tonight I remembered I was supposed to blog Saturday (Duh!).  So here I am, a day late (well, maybe a couple) and a dollar short.
Since we last talked, I’m all healed up from surgery and back at the day job (ick!).  So life’s back to normal…whatever that means.  One day, the money fairy is gonna land on my front doorstep and leave me enough to quit the day job – either that or I’ll get old enough to have Uncle Sam support my habit (writing, that is).
I took a fabulous road trip with a friend on Sunday.  Kayla Janz, writer extraordinaire, loaded me and my laptop into her jeep and we headed north to Prescott.  You see, we heard there was an RWA chapter somewhere in the area, but no one in the valley knew anything about them.  Rumor had it there was a NARWA member sighting earlier this year in the valley – apparently in the ladies room at the Desert Dreams Conference in Scottsdale – but we needed to see them for ourselves.
So we hit the Arizona trail (I-17) and managed to arrive at the meeting about 15 minutes late (groan).  We slipped in the back door and thought we’d be able to hide out in the back of the room, but that was not to be.  The gals in Prescott are a very friendly lot.  They were so warm and welcoming that they stopped the meeting to have us introduce ourselves and to welcome us into their lair.  The NARWA folks have a real nice chapter going there – about 30 members and I think they had about 2/3 of them at the meeting, which is a great turnout.  Pete’s Family Restaurant served us a tasty lunch (I recommend the cheeseburger and fries).  The speaker was Laraine Herring.  She’s an author, teacher and counselor with an MFA in creative writing and an MA in counseling psychology.  She teaches creative writing and English at Yavapai College.  She’s a wonderful speaker and I have no doubt from what I saw that she’s also a fabulous teacher.
A big thanks to everyone in Prescott who welcomed us so warmly and sent us home with some fabulous raffle prizes.  Kudos to author Cierra James who made the gorgeous Christmas tree in the basket I won.  Cierra is published in Romantic Suspense with Triskelion Publishing – NOW I PROMISE March 2006 – check her out at:
www.triskelionpublishing.net   www.cierrajamesauthor.com

 

Well, that’s about all I’ve got for now.  But stay tuned…next time I’ll tell you my snake story.  It’s a good one.  I had Kayla laughing pretty hard on the way back from Prescott.
Once again, thanks for tuning in and don’t forget to hang on tight ‘cuz we’re about to go real, real fast!
Love,
Kayce Lassiter

Butterscotch Martini Girl

 

7 responses to “Roadtrip to Prescott

  1. Newsletter Editor for NARWA, Kari, here! We wanted to say a big thanks to both Kayce & Kayla for joining us at our NARWA meeting! They were so sweet and friendly and we HOPE they’ll come back for more future meetings!

    LOVED the blog, Kayce! It had me thinking of the old kid’s story of the elephant Horton in “Horton Hears a Who”. I keep wanting to shout: WE”RE HERE, WE’RE HERE! lol! So…anyone else wanting to spot/meet a reclusive NARWA member…PLEASE do visit!

    hugs, Kari Thomas, TEMPTATION UNLEASHED, a SEXY Paranormal romance not to be missed! http://www.authorkari.com

    Like

  2. Wow, am I ever sorry I missed the trip. I waited until the last possible moment to tell Kayce and Kayla I wouldn’t be able to go with them. And I knew I’d regret it, but there was nothing I could do. I’m so glad they had a good time and I knew they would.

    Now how about the snake story…

    Like

  3. Sorry I missed the meeting guys – it sounds like it was great 🙂 Maybe after the first of the year when life slows down a bit, the rest of the Butterscotch Martini Girls clan can join ya!

    Tina Gerow
    ~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~
    Sexy, Snarky, Sensuous
    http://www.tinagerow.com
    Fire Maiden – Available Now at your local Book Store
    Knights of the Magical Realm: Warriors Gone Wild – Anthology coming October 2006 in Print & in eBook from Triskelion
    Stone Maiden – Available Now in Print & in eBook at Triskelion Publishing
    Take It Off – Available now at Triskelion Publishing
    Into a Dangerous Mind – Available Now at Triskelion Publishing

    Like

  4. I’m sorry I missed a road trip in Kayla’s jeep. I’m in for the next time. Sounds like you girls had a good time.

    Like

  5. It sounds like you guys had a wonderful time! I’m sorry I missed the meeting. I’d love to have the whole gang go up all at once. That would be a blast.

    Like

  6. To know that there are some great auathors close to me. Prescott is a beautiful place.

    Like

  7. Kacie,
    You must tell everyone your snake story. I had tears in my eyes! The next NARWA meeting is in January. I’m thinking another road trip is in the future.
    Kayla

    Like

Leave a Reply

