November Already

It’s November everyone! So what does that mean? It means Turkey day is coming. Right? But while we’re all gathered around the table feasting on our turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, let’s not forget the real meaning of Thanksgiving. My family traditionally take turns around the table giving thanks for something or someone that we are especially thankful for and this year I’m thankful for so much in my life. First of all my family, of course, and the new baby that is coming, my dogs, Rocky and sweet little Tinker, my home, my friends, my writing partner and The Wild Rose Press and especially the Butterscotch Martini Girl’s, who God only knows where I’d be without, and last, but not least, pumpkin pie.

I love pumpkin pie. Which reminds me of the poem that is traditionally said every year by one of the grandkids during our dinner.

Thanksgiving Day is coming.
So Mr. Turkey said.
I must be very careful
Or I shall lose my head.

The pumpkin heard the turkey.
I’m frightened too, oh my.
They’ll mix me up with sugar and spice
And I’ll be pumpkin pie.

Did you know that the largest pumpkin pie ever baked was in 2005 and weighed 2,020 pounds. Dang, I think I gained weight just writing that sentence.

Here’s a pumpkin pie that my mother used to make. I call Marie Callender’s, but should you want to make your own…here ya go.

Pumpkin Pie- Arkansas Style

1 15-ounce can pumpkin
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
3 slightly beaten eggs
1 5-ounce can evaporated milk
1/2 cup milk
Directions:
Line a 9-inch pie plate with pastry. Trim to ½ inch beyond edge of pie plate, then crimp edge as desired.
For filling, in a miximg bowl combine pumpkin, sugar, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. Add eggs. Beat lightly with a rotary beater or fork just until combined. Gradually stir in evaporated milk and milk, then mix well.
Place the pastry-lined pie plate on the oven rack. Carefully pour filling into pastry shell.
Cover edge of the pie with foil, this will prevent overbrowning. Bake at 375 for 25 minutes. Remove foil. Bake about 25 minutes more or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.
Serve with whipped cream.

Next week I’ll give you my sweet potato casserole recipe. And now I’m off to check on the Brava Contest website to see if they have posted any news about the contest. I’m a nervous wreck. I’ll be glad when they post the 20 finalists so I can quit stressing over it.

Have a wonderful week of writing.
Dani

2 responses to “November Already

  1. I believe I read somewhere the Brava announcement is November 15th…and I love talking pumpkins. We went to the Circleville Pumpkin festival recently and I took pictures of the big pumpkins. I’ll have to ask Tiff what she did with them.

    Like

  2. Oh Brit, that would be fun to see pictures of the pumpkins. Maybe you can find them and post. Yep, 7 more days till the Brava winners are announced. The count down is on! I keep checking the forum for updates. The odds are against me, but I’m sure having fun with it. Very exciting contest.

    Dani

    Like

Leave a Reply

