One girl’s ice pick moment is another’s girl’s fantasy.

Okay, it’s been a while since I blogged…I know…I know.  But I’m here now.  Okay?  Where have I been?  Well, I’ve been close by, but I’ve been totally dysfunctional when it comes to our lovely new website…yeah, you guessed it…I couldn’t figure out how to get in.  And when I’m stumped by something these days, I often just set it aside in favor of something easier.  That’s what happens as you fill your plate too full.  J  Anyway, sorry to have been so neglectful.  I’ll try to do better now that I’ve figured out how to get in to post my blog.  J

Well, as some of the earlier blogs have mentioned, we spent last weekend working at the Chocolate Affaire.  It was a busy, but fun-packed weekend and we had a number of funny events that took place, but one stands out in my mind and I just had to share it with ya.  But before I tell you what happened, I have to make sure you understand what an ice pick moment is…that’s one of those spaces in time where something “icky” happens that is so vivid in your mind that you’re sure it’s going to take an ice pick to remove the memory.

Our ringmaster extraordinaire, Kayla Janz, had her teenage daughter along for the weekend – a beautiful young lady who is just a treasure.  The Kid spent the weekend pretty much joined at the hip to one BMG after another.  She ran the register, bagged books, climbed ladders, stood on tables to hang lights, fetched drinks (non-alcoholic, of course), and ran many and miscellaneous errands…without a single complaint.  What a kid!

Anyway, the funny moment I wanted to share with ya had to do with The Kid and our hunky cover model, C. J. Hollenbach.  Well, C. J. had spent the day in a pirate’s costume for the sheer enjoyment of all of the female fans.  As it began to get late, he took a quick stroll over to the office and grabbed his clothes so they wouldn’t accidentally get locked up for the night, forcing him to hail a cab in his pirate garb.  Upon returning to the tent where we were set up, C. J. continued to sign autographs and have his picture taken with one adoring woman after another.

As we neared the end of our stint on Saturday night, it was getting late and it was cold…and we were all tired.  The crowd had slowed down and we were starting to pack up the books and fold up the tent, so to speak.  As several of us hovered near one of the back corners of the tent, packing up the cash register, we heard a muffled squeal from behind us.  Turning toward the sound, we found The Kid standing board straight with her eyes huge and round and her hand covering her mouth.  Kayla asked what was wrong and The Kid scurried forward into our midst and squeaked out, “CJ’s changing his clothes behind the tent.  Oh my God, he’s putting his pants on!”

What?  A man in his underwear?  What to do?  Why, it’s the Butterscotch Martini Girls to the rescue!!!!   (We’re working on the costume with the big “B” on the front.  Uh…no jokes, please…it stands for ButterscotchMy story…remember?)

Anyway, I digress.  Isabella, true to form, gave a throaty chuckle and nonchalantly waved her hand at The Kid.  “Oh, Honey,” she said, “don’t worry about that.  By the time you’re our age, it’ll mean nothing to you.  It’s just a guy putting on his pants.”

The rest of us stared at Isabella like she’d lost her mind.  Tina, craning her neck around the corner of the tent, said, “Are you kidding me?  Hell, I’m looking!”  At which point, we realized we were all craning our necks and looking around the corner of the tent.  Just goes to show you one girl’s ice pick moment is another girl’s fantasy.

The bottom line is that the kid recovered, the old broad got an eyeful, and all’s well that ends well.  That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.  Hang on tight now, ‘cuz we’re gonna go real, real fast!

Love ya,

Kayce

5 responses to “One girl’s ice pick moment is another’s girl’s fantasy.

  1. My husband’s question when I read this to him: “Did he have underwear on?”

    Like

  2. And what type? 🙂

    Like

  3. Where the heck was I?

    Like

  4. Congratulations, you made “The Kid” blush. I informed her she’d made the blog…again. And came scurrying in the room at the speed of sound. She claims she will no longer hang out with the BMG’s but we all know better. She can’t resist us.The Dark Side beckons.
    Kayla

    Like

  5. LMFAO…missed ya babe!!! Isabella

    Like

Leave a Reply

