More RT 2008

What does it mean when you have gained 5 pounds, are so body sore you can barely move, have a suitcase bulging with books and every sort of author promo item you can think of?  You’re a 2008 RT survivor!

I had the best time. I enjoyed RT even more than last year.  Pittsburgh is beautiful, what I saw of it anyway. The hillsides were green and the tulips were blooming. And from our window on the 20th floor, Kayce and I had a nice view of the river.

However if I had it all to do over, I’d change one thing.  I’d have gone to the dinner that Fabio was at and had my picture taken with him. I mean really, what was I thinking? It was Fabio for goodness sakes!  It is so me, to not get involved and then later, after a couple of butterscotch martini’s, decide that I want to be in the middle of all the hoopla. Only this time it was too late to go to the dinner by the time I decided I wanted to meet him. So like Kayce told you earlier I had to become a Fabio stalker.  And my quest was very unsuccessful.  I kept missing him by only minutes!  Darn it.

And yes, there was a moment in time when I thought about thumping Kayce when I heard that she rode the elevator with him.  Geesh, you’d think a real friend would have thought to use her cell phone and have me there when they got off the elevator. But no…I get told about it all later.  Ah well, I’ll forgive her, after all when you’re standing next to the King of Romance, I’d expect you’d  have your mind on something other than calling your girl friends.

Later that night, Isabella saw him headed toward the restroom and ran to get me, but by the time we got back, he was gone.  Missed him again!  Still all was not lost, we found our friend C J Hollenbach and I had a picture taken with him. I think it’s on Isabella’s camera and will eventually turn up.  Just as good as one taken with Fabio and maybe even better.

Speaking of picture taking. We should have some more great pictures to post when Carol takes them off her camera.  No pressure, take your time, I’m not dying to see them or anything. I’m just glad Carol brought her camera. I went off and forgot mine. So I’m greatful for any taken. Thanks again, Carol. I know I drove you crazy with, “Take a picture, take a picture!”  Isabella has some good ones too, so there should be no shortage of fun pictures.  Oh, and I did manage to have my picture taken with the band guy from the Impalers.  Sonny, or was it Ren D’Antoni?? 🙂

When I got home and told my hubby about our trip and my search for Fabio, he reminded me that I had my very own cover model right here at home. Him!  Yes, it’s true, he was on the cover of a magazine once. The Arizona Thoroughbred Breeders magazine.  Of course he was fully dressed and the distribution of the magazine wasn’t much to brag about since it only goes out to local members, but he was still on the cover. Works for me!  I think I’ll dig that issue out and frame it. Maybe hang it on my office wall.

Oh well, back to RT.

Overall I met and made so many new friends, it was fantastic. Especially all The Wild Rose Press authors and Rhonda and RJ. What fun to now have faces to go with the names.  And, I was thrilled to meet Amanda, my editor. She is so pretty and what a character.  We really hit it off.  Amanda and I danced till we dropped at the Dorchester party.  Probably one reason I’m so body sore.  It’s been a long time since I danced that much. Good thing I’ll  have a year to rest up. I bet I’ll need it.

More good news. Our Butterscotch Martini Girls Critique workshop was a big success. We had a better turnout than we even hoped for and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  We focused on answers to all the critiquing challenges.  Especially for the new writers who are somewhat overwhelmed and not sure how or what is expected from them when giving a critique.   We had quite a good question and answer session too.  And, afterward we received some good feedback. All in all I think it went really well and it was a unanimous BMG decision to give another workshop next year.  Still it was a big relief when it was all over and we could relax.  So much so that it called for a celebration, more butterscotch martini’s.  And I need to add a big thank you, Vijaya Schartz!  She gave us a wonderful impromptu introduction.

Before I forget. Mega congratulations 2008 Mr. Romance winner Chris Winters!

When my email arrives to ask if I plan on attending again in 2009, you bet I’ll respond with count me in!  RT Orlando ’09!  See you there!!!!

Quote de jour

“If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it!  If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.  If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.”

– Nora Roberts –

Well, I’m off to get some edits done today.  It’s time to get back to work.

Happy writing everyone,

Dani/Tia Dani

One response to “More RT 2008

  1. I didn’t see anything about drunk shopping..lol. Isabella

    Like

Leave a Reply

