Some Get Rained Out…

Hi there!  Did y’all think I’d died?  Nope…still here and still kickin’.  Just been buried trying to dig out from under life…you know how it goes, don’t cha?  Sure you do…we’ve all been there.  I have a good friend that says some days it’s like being stoned to death with popcorn…none of the individual pieces is big enough to kill ya but put ‘em all together and you sometimes think it might.  LOL  Well, it hasn’t…killed me, that is.  In fact, I think I’m actually winning the battle.  Woo Hoo!!!  Doing the happy dance.

Now, I’ve had a couple of people email me recently to ask how the internet dating thing is going and what ever happened to Mr. Confused, so I thought I’d bring ya up to speed on that…since this is, after all, a “romance” writers site.  LOL

Mr. Confused…he’s still out there…still emailing and calling occasionally…and after almost two years, I still have not met him face-to-face.  Surprised?  No, I didn’t think so.  LMAO  He did make it to Florida last October (2007) and was only one day late getting there.  Then he made it to Houston in time for Thanksgiving dinner (he’s a man…what did you expect?)…where he stayed for a long, long time.  Guess his sisters are really good cooks.  (wink-wink)  Anyway, toward the end of this last summer, he started for home (remember…that was Oregon).  Well, the trip home rivaled the trip out.  He was headed for Phoenix…slowly, but surely…and then the van and trailer started breaking down in one town after another…and I’ll be damned if he didn’t lose his way and miss Phoenix again on the way home just like he did on the way out.  Before we knew it, he was back in Oregon.  Go figure!  I know what you’re thinking…I scared him and he’s afraid to actually meet me.  I promise, I didn’t do anything kinky or weird or scary to this man.  Really!  Oh…maybe that’s the problem.  Hmmmmmmm……    ROFL

Mr. Wonderful…this was the one that got away…the one that stole my heart and then squished it like a bug on the sidewalk.  Yep…he did.  I found one that I thought was the one made in heaven.  It was a wonderful, whirlwind romance that I thought (at my age) I’d never see again.  It was fabulous.  It was beautiful.  It was sexy.  It was short.  LOL  Anyway, long story short, I fell in love (little l…not enough time, thankfully, to give away my entire heart).  On a Sunday he asked me for exclusivity (which I was delighted to agree to) and three days later on Wednesday, sent me an email breaking it off with virtually no explanation…then refused to take email, text, IM, or phone calls…just dropped off the face of the earth.  Yes, you read that right…an email…a stinking email!!!  I was stunned…sent me for a loop because this was absolutely the last man on earth I would have expected such unfeeling and inconsiderate treatment from.  I really did expect more from him.  But apparently, we’re never too old to be taken for a ride…and apparently they’re never too old to be ijits.  Now, before you start feeling sorry for me…I must reaffirm that this was a wonderful few weeks.  I’ve got some really warm and special memories…some of the most romantic moments in time that I’ve ever had…and the images are burned permanently into my mind.  So it wasn’t a total loss.  This was one of those once in a lifetime romances that is the stuff our stories are made of…complete with butterflies in the stomach, long hot kisses, long hours of conversation until the sun comes up, laughing together at stupid movies, and long romantic moments staring into each other’s eyes where there is no one else in the world but the two of you.  So no matter what the outcome was, I will always be grateful for those very special memories I’ve got.  And if nothing else, it will help me out a lot in those love scenes.  J  Ya gotta love that!

Mr. Scammer.  Normally, I wouldn’t give this guy any space in my blog, but this one was just so damn stupid…and such a bad scammer…that he’s got to have special mention.  I figured out real early on that this was a scammer…and most likely one of those Nigerian scammers…since he was supposedly living in Meadview, Arizona but was spending a lot of time in the UK and Africa.  Long story short, he took me through the normal bum’s rush where they try to make what they think is a desperate and lonely woman believe that they have actually fallen in love with her through 2 very brief emails…all on the strength of her tremendous beauty and earth-shattering personality.  Duh!  Can you say…”Are ya kiddin’ me?”  Well, this one was priceless.  He eventually decided I wasn’t coming around fast enough, so as George Straight once said in a movie, he “cranked up the fire under the dancing chicken.”  He sent me an excerpt that he had clearly cut and pasted from a romance novel somewhere.  It was so good that I’ve just got to include it here…

I miss you. I want to be with you and hold you. I want to gently touch your face and cup your cheek in my hand as I look into your beautiful blue eyes.. I want to snuggle and cuddle with you, to just be close to you. I want to rub your leg and stare across the couch as we talk of our feelings for one another. I want to hold your hand across the table at a restaurant. I want others in the restaurant to be jealous of our intimacy and our tender affection for one another. I want to lie next to you in front of a fire and gaze into your eyes while I rub your back.. I want to romance you. I want you to know how beautiful you are in my eyes. I want you to know how much I cherish and adore you. I want to give my heart to you. I want your heart, I want it all.

Nice you say?  Yes, it most certainly would be…if my eyes weren’t brown.  LOL  Yeah, that’s a pretty stupid scammer…one who needs a spreadsheet to keep track of his communications.  The really funny thing is that I finally decided to stop playing the game with him because he was getting really creepy and the train wreck was no longer fun to watch.  So when I told him to never contact me again, he sent the same cut and pasted excerpt, begging me to reconsider…apparently forgetting he’d already sent it to me once before.  ROFL  I replied that he was an idiot…and that my eyes were still brown.

Well, that’s my dating experience over the last year or so in a nutshell…some wonderful moments, some broken heart moments, some good laughs, and some head-scratchers.  All in all, a good time, but no Mr. Right yet.  (Although there is still a very cranky man in Cornville and a very sexy man in Tennessee that will forever be my friends.)

The moral of the story?  You win some, you lose some, and some get rained out.  But everything you survive makes you smarter, stronger, better.  The only wasted lesson is the one you don’t learn from and the only regretted love is the one that doesn’t somehow leave you better than it found you.

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!  Hang on tight ‘cuz we’re gonna go real, real fast!

Love ya,

Kayce

Leave a Reply

