My First Boyfriend…

Back when I was in high school I was a total and complete band geek. I was so band-geeky in fact that during most of my lunch hours you’d find me practicing my clarinet in the band room. Now, I don’t regret my time there, that clarinet scholarship paid my way through college, but that’s not the point of my story. 🙂 Now add to this that I was always somewhat of a tomboy, and hung out with lots of guys who – yup, you pegged it – thought of me purely as a “friend” and not as a girl.

Anyway, my band director asked if my friend and I would be willing to give up a weekend and sit in and play with an orchestra during a performance of Guys and Dolls in Sun City—which for those of you not familiar with Arizona, Sun City is our local retirement community.

I jumped at the chance to play with adult musicians—retired professionals, those with a lifelong hobby and love of music etc. So, my friend Merrit Taylor, and I headed off to Sun City to sit in.

The director was a very sweet elderly gentleman with a ready smile, a thorough love of music and some terrific stories. Rehearsals were great fun, and we were looking forward to the actual performance. This was my first experience playing in a live production, and it is a fond memory I’ll always carry with me.

Anyway, sometime during rehearsals and performances and all the rest, I glanced up to see a gorgeous guy with a terrific smile complete with an adorable dimple in one cheek, and the bluest blue eyes I’d ever seen. Now put yourself back inside your hormone-driven brain in high school. My breath caught, the world stopped and my teenage heart beat faster. It was one of those moments I look back on and smile because I know I sat there staring like an open-mouthed idiot and was quite obvious about it—something I tease my son about whenever I see him do it now…lol.

So, imagine my excitement when the director brought Mr. Hottie over to the orchestra to introduce him as his grandson on leave from the Navy. And imagine those teenage hormones kicking into overdrive when that great smile turned toward me, and he winked at me with those great blue eyes. <Insert dreamy sigh here>

To make things even more perfect, he was sweet, smart, had a great sense of humor and seemed just as gaga over me. And as cheesy as it sounds, I remember that very first kiss, and I’m glad it was a great memory I can smile over instead of some of the horror stories of first kisses I’ve heard from my friends. If memory serves, we “dated” for nearly a year, which consisted of kissing, holding hands, writing lots of letters punctuated by short visits when he could get leave from his ship and talking about how we would be together forever. In fact, I even remember a Cubic Zirconia ring that I wore for quite a while.  Ahh youth…

Time happened and so did high school, and I remember writing him sadly telling him that I wasn’t ready for forever, and neither was he, and that for now, I needed to be a high school kid. I mailed back the ring and we parted amicably and fondly and I didn’t hear from him again until college. He was back in town for a weekend visiting his grandparents, and I have fond memories of a weekend spent laughing and catching up on the years we’d missed. I also remember speaking to him briefly—although I can’t remember if it was in person or on the phone—right after I’d graduated from college, and I was engaged to be married.

Fast forward eighteen years since we’ve last spoken, or around twenty-five years since we met and I received an email out of the blue the other day through my writing website. It was from him. I recognized the name instantly, and it was a happy surprise to hear that he was now happily married with two great kids and had made a career out of the Navy. He was in town again, this time visiting his grandmother. His grandfather, sadly, had passed away several years ago.

Since schedules on both sides were tight, I only got to see him for a few minutes, but recognized him instantly, and nearly laughed when he looked at me with that same smile and dimple and those same laughing blue eyes – and winked when he saw me just like he had the first time I laid eyes on him.  And he still looked great. We’ve both “matured” as he put it, but it was a great trip through memory lane that reminded me of that young innocent high school girl I used to be long ago 🙂 (If you’ve read my books, you know that was a loooooong while ago…LOL!) And reminds me of a very sweet boy who filled my thoughts, dreams and several pages of my journals during high school. Talking with him was just as easy and fun as it had been then, and I hope that this time we’ll keep in touch and not wait quite so long to catch up on each other’s lives.

He says his grandmother has a great picture of both of us together looking at each other so moon eyed that it will give you cavities. I hope he finds it and can send me a copy.  If I get it, I’ll post it. But for now, I only have the picture of me from high school—the one that incidentally, my son thinks makes me look like a nurse…lol.

Tinas High School Pic

Isn’t it interesting what perspective age can give us? I turn forty in a month, and in the span of a few minutes, I felt fourteen all over again—or at least the good parts of it…lol. And it has made me wax a bit nostalgic if you can’t tell.

So what about all of you? Do you remember your first girlfriend or boyfriend? Fond memories? Embarrassing ones? Join me in my trip down memory lane, and do tell…

I’ll draw from all the names of everyone who leaves a comment or a fun story and I’ll give away an electronic copy of that person’s choice of VORTEX BLUES or TAKE IT OFF. So dish, and let’s have some fun!

Tina/Cassie

12 responses to “My First Boyfriend…

  1. I have never had a boyfriend yet. So I can’t tell you any boyfriend stories. I loved your story of your first. It is really cute and I think very cool and good that you have remained friends.

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by Lexee 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve been thinking about this alot lately…reunion two weeks back and all. The boy, now the man, I dated in high school didn’t really speak to me. The last reunion I attended we spoke at length, but not this one.

    I haven’t a clue what his problem was. I went over to his table and it even seemed as though he couldn’t look at me. At one point he had one of my books in his hand, (I’d given it to a friend) so I really don’t have a clue. But my feelings are hurt.

    Everyone else was great…my reunion with my first love was not. His wife was friendly though…very sweet. I can’t explain it and never would’ve believed it.

    Like

  4. Wow, that was odd, Brit. I wonder if you writing smoking hot romances freaked him out a bit. Some guys just can’t handle that – it skews their sense of who they thought we were. Oh well, his loss. Hopefully his wife beats some sense into him for her sake 🙂

    Lucky for me, Mr. Hottie First BF thought it was cool that I’d found a new career I enjoyed and excelled at. He said it didn’t surprise him too much.

    Like

  5. It wasn’t the smoking hot story I’d given to the friend. It was Thoroughly Mannerly Millicent. The hardback! At one point he opened it to the last page and was reading. I hadn’t noticed until his wife asked if he was reading the end. And I said, “All of my books end the same, with a happily-ever-after.”

    It was very strange. At times I was treated rather like a celeb…I wonder if that had something to do with it.

    Like

  6. You need to come spend a day answering questions on my myspace blog and do a giveaway there. Maybe for the Holidays. I just made the ALL Categories list at number 469 out of 14,256 popular blogs from 382,713 posted daily.

    Like

  7. Maybe we could do a Sapphire Blue week and include everyone for my 6K Friends giveaway…

    Like

  8. First boyfriend – such memories… I was the shy wallflower in high school. The art student who kept to heself and spent every spare moment drawing or filling notebooks with poetry and stories. I was smart enough to be in all of the accelerated classes with the rich kids, but never popular enough to hang out with them.

    I’ve always had a thing for guys of the somewhat nerdy persuasion, anyway. I hung out alot with the band and theater kids. It was during a performance of our school’s production of Wizard of Oz my Sophomore year that I fell for the cowardly lion. Super tall, thick dark hair, and brown eyes that appeared almost black. I was sunk. The only problem was, he just happened to be my best friend’s ex.

    I know, I know. What was I thinking? But she assured me that it was ok if we dated. Encouraged it, even. Little did I know, he was still madly in love with her, which was eventually the means to our end.

    He was my first kiss, my first love, and my first broken heart. It took quite awhile to get over him. But as you said, we change with age, and I learned to make peace with it all.

    Just a few months ago, I found him out of the blue on Myspace. He’s happily married and doing well, which I found myself truly happy about. We are staying in touch, and even talk on the phone about once a week.

    Sometimes it’s really great to be a grown up.

    Like

  9. Christle. Thanks for sharing that story! I agree, even if I had the chance to go back and be 14 again I wouldn’t ever take it. I like who I am now, and have tons of life left to live with my hard-won knowledge 🙂

    Tina

    Like

  10. Little Lamb Lost

    I married my first boyfriend. It is a happy marriage and one of the reasons that I so enjoy reading romance. I can vicariously experience that wonderful thing called falling in love, agan and again.

    It was fun to read your post.

    Like

  11. I’m sooooo sorry I haven’t gotten back to this to announce the winner.

    I just put everyone’s name in a hat and let my son draw a name out.

    So, the winner of either a copy of Vortex Blues or Take It Off is…drumroll…..Little Lamb Lost.

    Email me at info at tinagerow dot com and let me know which book and if you’d like PDF, HTML or PRC format 🙂

    Thanks!
    Tina

    Like

  12. I know I’m a little late on this, but my first boyfriend (1981) actually got in touch with me in 2008. I won’t go into detail but he treated me very badly.

    Turns out he stayed with the girl he’d cheated on me with and she broke his heart and married someone else. When her marriage to guy #2 broke up, she went back to him (my ex) and split up his marriage as well. They got married, had two kids and then she dumped him 17 years later. Now that his divorce is final, he’s found a Russian fiance.

    Turns out he had a “My Name is Earl” moment and thought it was time to track me down and apologize. Karma can be a real bitch, eh?

    On a positive note, we exchange the occasional email now and his fiance has agreed to help me on a book I’m working on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

