My addiction

I haven’t posted in forever! Mostly because I haven’t had anything to say and live a relatively boring life. Contrary to popular belief the life of a writer is not all glamorous. Ahhhh, what a shame.

Anyway, since I’ve been a naughty girl and haven’t posted I have much to catch you all up on. First, let’s start with the kiddos. Not kids anymore, but young adults. My youngest turns 18 in a couple of months, graduates high school and has joined the Army. She ships out for basic training mid July. She’ll be gone until Feb. 2010.

My son is getting ready for his 2nd tour in Afghanistan. He leaves at the end of this month and will be gone for a year. Please send positive thoughts and wishes his way. Mom doesn’t sleep much when he’s overseas.

I received another rejection letter the other day. But it’s not all bad. Silhouette Intrigue said the manuscript I sent them wasn’t Intrigue material but she really liked my writing and to send her something else. Woo-hoo! Now, to write the blasted synopsis. Grrrrrr

I’ve been writing! Working away on a story with a kick-butt heroine who used to be a hired gun and is now a body guard. What irony, she used to kill them now she has to keep them alive. I know writers are supposed to write and you’re probably wondering why I’m so excited about this. But life has a tendancy to get in the way  and suck the creativity right out of your very soul. But, I’m back on the horse, (as Kayce would say) and my fingers have been flying over the keys. Feels great and I’m stoked about my latest venture. This project has the opportunity to be a long, long series which would be amazing.

I bet you’re all wondering about the title of this post, huh? My addiction.

 Tattoos.

I just got my 5th tat yesterday and I’ve already got the next 2 lined up. And to answer your next question, yes, they hurt. All tattoos hurt to one degree or another. Some just hurt worse than others and then there are certain spots on the body that are uber-sensitive. Get your minds out of the gutter! I’m not talking about those spots, although, I’d bet they are uber-sensitive too.

I’m talking about your side, as in rib cage, stomach, lower back and believe it or not I’ve heard the top of the foot is the worst. There was a young lady in the room next to me yesterday getting a beautiful rose on the top of her foot and she was literally shaking. My grandma used to tell me pains to be beautiful, but I don’t think that was what granny meant. 🙂

So what did I get? I added a tribal design of a sun on my right forearm to go with the tribal moon I had done about a month ago on my inner arm.

My other pieces of body art include: a sea turtle with a tiki god face on its shell, the Social Distortion dancing skeleton (he has a martini glass in 1 hand) and a tangled vine with roses.

My next 2 designs will be: A martini girl, and a skeleton bride. One will go on my shoulder and the other will go on my left inner arm.

I’d post pictures but my daughter ran off with my digi camera. 🙂 Well, that’s about it for now. I’ll try and get better about posting. The next event coming up is Romantic Times convention in Orlando, Fl. Very excited about this, the RT convention is my favorite of faves for the year. I also found out and may have posted about this but Piers Anthony is going to be there this year. He’s the very first “adult” novel I picked up and started to read. When I say “adult” I don’t mean erotic or anything like that. I mean, transitioning from the Black Stallion to more adult literature and fiction.

If you’re going to attend RT this year, look me up. We’ll have a butterscotch martini together.

Ciao,

Kayla Janz

One response to “My addiction

  1. Hey Kayla, Congrats on the new tat. Can’t wait to see it, and you. I’ll be praying for your kiddos. They are both wonderful young adults and I know you are so proud of them. Sorry about the rejection, but this new story will be picked up. I’ve been reading it and am now on chapter 6. Great story!! And, RT, you bet, butterscotch martini’s. Can’t wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

