Never Give Up BMG-Style

brit&tinaNever Give up is a good motto to live by no matter what your circumstances.

When Tina Gerow and I started our little critique group in the fall of 2003, we were confident we’d one day be published. We didn’t have a doubt and there was no way in Heaven or Hades we would give up our dream. Not a single solitary doubt…

Before I met Tina, I wouldn’t say I had doubts.  I didn’t have the assured expectation of success.  Tina and I shared the expectation of success.

One year later, in the fall of 2004, I had a contract from a small Indie epub. I loved the owner of that company, Rose. She was a wonderful encouragement to me. And the experience taught me a lot. In January of 2005 I was published and by the end of that year had 8 more contracts by another publisher. I also had a manuscript sitting with New York publisher that would be eventually accepted.

Tina had her first contract that year too. We did it together. And we did it fast.

Then three years ago we did something else together, although by this time we were physically two thousand miles apart. We both had critical events, and AVM (not ATV) for Tina, and breast cancer for me. Tina is still in recovery, me…not so much.

Yet both of us are still of the never give up mentality. Both of us are working hard to get our books out.

I even have a new release coming from Ellora’s Cave. When I signed the contract in 2013 I was in remission. And now it’s scheduled for release April 4th, 10 days from now!

And today I have the #2 Book on Amazon’s Hot New Releases for Westerns. I think that qualifies as never giving up!

Brit’s Amazon

Tina’s Amazon

 

One response to “Never Give Up BMG-Style

  1. It’s true I’m still recovering from the AVM rupture and might be for several years, if I ever TRULY recover all the way. But I think by the definition of getting back into life and grabbing it with both hands and doing as much as you’re able – you’re recovering also 🙂 I suppose it’s all relative! And I’ve been so honored to go on this journey with you! I can’t imagine where I’d be now without you and my beloved Butterscotch Martini Girls!

    Like

Leave a Reply

