Another Ah Ha Moment ~ You’d Think I’d Learn ~ All About Obsessions

I don’t know about you, but I have obsessions on occasions. Sometimes it’s about counting my calories, sometimes it’s about needing to get home to watch the Amazing Race because it’s the finale. Or I’ve discovered a new author and I have to get their next book ASAP. For the longest time, the second a Dean Koontz book was out, I’d make sure I’d get it in my greedy little hand.

Obsessions_blogpostWell, for decades now I’ve been obsessed with writing. Sometimes I ask myself why? I’m sure other writer’s ask themselves the same question. I’ve known I’ve been obsessed for years now, but this week I got myself an ‘ah ha’ moment to tell me just how freaking obsessed I am. We’re taking OBSESSED or delusional. Probably delusional comes into play too.

Just a couple of days ago I was at  the doctor’s office getting some blood work done when I see a magazine. The title calls to me. Obsessions. Yeah, I get it. I know what that is all about. So, since I know I have time (I’m at a doctors office. Of course I’ve got time!), I grab the magazine and take a quick look at the title. First thing I see is Joseph Conrad. Now please realize that some wacky part of my brain was malfunctioning because I’m OBSESSED. Then on the top of the magazine, I see the words and think wow, this is perfect: Live My Bestseller Life. It took me a full minute to realized I’d pretty much gotten every phrase and name on the magazine WRONG. No they weren’t talk about the writer, Joseph Conrad, but Conrad Anker, a mountain climber. Hmmm…  Bestseller wasn’t even close to the wording on the top of the magazine. “Live Your Best Life” How the heck did I turn the letters around to read “Live Your Bestseller  Life”?

Because I’m OBSESSED. Actually it’s not just the writing but books itself. I used to have a used bookstores for almost a decade. I LOVED it. Nothing beats walking into a room where it smells like books.

So what is your OBSESSION?Knock Knock - Anxiety

I guess we’re all a little obsessed about something. I know Jake in the book Anxiety has his own obsessions. I know I would too if I was him. He has to find an antidote to a formula which is slowly killing him. If he doesn’t find it in Margot’s house, he’ll end up dead. But then again, he still might end up dead with a murderer after him.

Oh, on a side not, the first episode in Anxiety: Knock Knock is free on Amazon. If you like it, you can also by the full version or the other episodes in the series.

Leave a Reply

