Can You Remake a Book?

poltergeistI posted about the movie Poltergeist and its remake along with the urban legend/curse of the original Poltergeist on my blog on Friday. While I was writing about loving the original, I started thinking about books and how you just don’t see remakes of of original books. I really can’t see someone doing a remake of the book Gone with The Wind. At least Hollywood has been smart enough not to try to make a remake of it. I think it would land on its face.

Why aren’t there remakes of original books? I don’t think copyright has anything to do with it. Is it because when a book is that good, it’s impossible to make it better? Words are words and I’m not sure you can make something better when it’s already great.

With movies, Poltergeist for example, you can always make the special effects better, but what about characterization? Can you make that better when it’s already great? In the case of Poltergeist I don’t think you can. I loved the original and the dynamics of the whole family. Is it because Hollywood doesn’t see outside of the box and likes to do remake after remake? Peter Pan has been done to death. Also, it seems all movies are made from books. You don’t see books made from movies. Why is that? I would think if you have a great movie, you could even have a greater book, because you can get deeper into the characters and the scenes, and add more layers to everything involved.

I don’t know of one book that was remade. Can anyone else come up with one?

Pondering this Sunday…

And of course thinking how a movie would come across on the big screen from one of my books. 🙂

One response to “Can You Remake a Book?

  1. Somehow I don’t think people would put up with remakes of heir favorite books. In fact, authors who rewrite and update books before re-release once they’ve gotten their rights back have encountered mixed reactions.

    I’m going to have to do some of that for Stone Maiden & Fire Maiden one of these days before I release Ice Maiden and I’m expecting VERY mixed results since that series was popular.

    But this is an interesting topic. I had never really thought about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

