Christmas Movies – Krampus vs Gremlins by H. D.

I just saw the preview for Krampus. I’m not sure what to think of it. When I was watching the preview though, I thought of Gremlins. I loved the first and second in the Gremlin series. I actually think of it as a bit of a classic. Both humor and scares mixed into the film. I don’t think there had been anything done as successfully as Gremlins since. There’s of course Scream, but that’s a full-blown horror movie.

krampusFrom what I can see, Krampus looks like a nail bitter. Toni Collette is one of the main actors, and I love anything by her. She was great in Sixth Sense, and I think she really added a wonderful dimension to that movie.

Krampus is quoted as being an American black comedy horror. Below is the movie’s summary.

When his dysfunctional family clashes over the holidays, young Max is disillusioned and turns his back on Christmas. Little does he know, this lack of festive spirit has unleashed the wrath of Krampus: a demonic force of ancient evil intent on punishing non-believers. All hell breaks loose as beloved holiday icons take on a monstrous life of their own, laying siege to the fractured family’s home and forcing them to fight for each other if they hope to survive.

I actually didn’t realize Krampus was from Alpine folklore. Who would have thought? 🙂 The figure has horns and is shaped like a human but at the same time, doesn’t look human. According to folklore,  Krampus punishes children gremlinsduring the Christmas season who have misbehaved.

Like Krampus, Gremlins is also a dark comedy. If you missed Gremlins, I think it’s well worth the time to watch.  It’s about a young man who received a very strange creature known as a mogwai. He’s told not to do certain things, particularly feed the animal after a certain time. Of course everything he’s not supposed to do, he does.

Gremlins was made in 1984 and directed by Steven Spielberg. I had no idea Howie Mandel was the voice of Gizmo. I actually might have to watch the movie again. Not sure if it will get through the test of time intact. Not sure it will get me in the Christmas spirit either, but it’s worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

